South Plains

A Local Section of the American Chemical Society

About Us

The South Plains local section was chartered in 1964 and includes the territory comprised of Roosevelt County in the State of New Mexico and Bailey, Borden, Cochran, Crosby, Dawson, Dickens, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Hockley, Kent, Lamb, Lubbock, Motley, Terry, and Yoakum counties in the State of Texas.

We are centered in Lubbock, TX and serve the surrounding colleges and communities in western Texas and eastern New Mexico, including Wayland Baptist University (Plainview, TX), Lubbock Christian University, Eastern New Mexico University (Portales, NM), South Plains College (Levelland, TX) and Texas Tech University (Lubbock, TX).

The South Plains historical documents, including founding members and original bylaws, can be accessed here

About the American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information. A nonprofit organization, chartered by Congress, ACS is at the forefront of the evolving worldwide chemical enterprise and the premier professional home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions around the globe.